NSW School Holiday Dates 2024

NSW Term Dates + Holidays

To help you plan for your family holidays in 2024, we’ve collated for easy reference the NSW School Holiday Dates 2024 as well as NSW Public Holiday Dates 2024 and NSW School Term Dates 2024 for the Eastern Division of NSW Australia.

NSW School Holiday Dates 2024

Autumn Holidays

Monday 15 April to Friday 26 April 2024

Autumn is traditionally the transition months of the Australian year; March, April and May. Typically autumn is the season to receive the most rain, but all the welcomed rain doesn’t dampen the autumn school holiday fun in the Greater Port Macquarie region!

View our autumn holidays section for the latest holiday inspiration and activities occurring throughout the Greater Port Macquarie during the autumn school holidays.

Winter Holidays

Monday 8 July to Friday 19 July 2024

Winter is traditionally the three coldest months of the Australian year; June, July and August. But as Sir Ranulph Fiennes says; “there is no bad weather, only inappropriate clothing.”

So get on out there with the kids these winter holidays and explore!

View our winter holidays section for the latest holiday inspiration and activities occurring throughout the Greater Port Macquarie during the winter school holidays.

Spring Holidays

Monday 30 September to Friday 11 October 2024

Spring is traditionally the three transition months of the Australian year; September, October and November.

View our spring holidays  section for the latest holiday inspiration and activities occurring throughout the Greater Port Macquarie during the spring school holidays.

Summer Holidays

Monday 23 December 2024 to Thursday 30 January 2025

Summer is traditionally the three hottest months of the Australian year; December, January and February.

View our summer holidays section for the latest holiday inspiration and activities occurring throughout the Greater Port Macquarie during the summer school holidays.

NSW Public Holiday Dates 2024

  • New Year’s Day
    Monday 1 January 2024
  • Australia Day
    Friday 26 January 2024
  • Good Friday
    Friday 29 March 2024
  • Easter Saturday
    Saturday 30 March 2024
  • Easter Sunday
    Sunday 31 March 2024
  • Easter Monday
    Monday 1 April 2024
  • Anzac Day
    Thursday 25 April 2024
  • King’s Birthday
    Monday 10 June 2024
  • Labour Day
    Monday 7 October 2024
  • Christmas Day
    Wednesday 25 December 2024
  • Boxing Day
    Thursday 26 December 2024

NSW School Term Dates 2024

  • Term 1 for students
    Tuesday 30 January to Friday 12 April 2024
  • Term 2 for students
    Monday 29 April to Friday 5 July 2024
  • Term 3 for students
    Monday 22 July to Friday 27 September 2024
  • Term 4 for students
    Monday 14 October to Friday 20 December 2024

Term dates include School Development Days that occur on the first 2 days of Term 1, the first day of Terms 2 and 3 and the last 2 days of the school year in NSW public schools.

2024 School Development Days for the Eastern division are:

  • Term 1 = Tuesday 30 + Wednesday 31 January 2024
  • Term 2 = Monday 29 April 2024
  • Term 3 = Monday 22 July 2024
  • Term 4 = Thursday 19 + Friday 20 December 2024

These dates are NSW Government Schools Term Dates 2024 but can vary slightly from school to school, please visit the DoE website for further information or your school’s website for dates specific to your school.

Daylight Savings

Daylight saving in NSW begins at 2am, Eastern Standard Time, on the first Sunday in October and ends at 3am Eastern Daylight Saving Time on the first Sunday in April.