#MoonPhases

Full Moon + New Moon Phases in 2020 for Port Macquarie NSW Australia

Phases of the Moon

The Moon is lit up by the sun as it orbits the Earth. At times we see the whole Moon from Earth, and other times we only see small parts of it. The Moon does not send out its own light, we only see the parts that are being lit by sunlight. These different stages are called Phases of the Moon.

The New Moon is the first primary phase. It occurs when the Sun and Moon are aligned, with the Sun and Earth on opposite sides of the Moon.

The next phase is called the Waxing Crescent, followed by the First Quarter, Waxing Gibbous and then Full Moon.

The Full Moon appears in the night sky when the Sun and the Moon are aligned on opposite sides of Earth.

As the Moon continues its orbit it then becomes a Waning Gibbous, Third Quarter, Waning Crescent, and back to the first primary phase of a New Moon.

Each phase repeats itself every 29.5 days.

“Just as future eclipses of the Sun and Moon are indicated in the present relations of those bodies, so are future earthly lives indicated in what now lives within us.”
~ Rudolf Steiner
Moon Phases

Moon Phases

Full Moon 2020

  • Saturday 11 January 6:21am
    Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
  • Sunday 9 February 6:33pm
  • Tuesday 10 March 4:47am
    Super Full Moon
  • Wednesday 8 April 12:35pm
    Super Full Moon
  • Thursday 7 May 8:45pm
  • Saturday 6 June 5:12am
    Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
  • Sunday 5 July 2:44pm
  • Tuesday 4 August 1:58am
  • Wednesday 2 September 3:22pm
  • Friday 2 October 7:05am
    Micro Full Moon
  • Sunday 1 November 1:49am
    Micro Full Moon
  • Monday 30 November 8:29pm
    Blue Moon + Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
  • Wednesday 30 December 2:28pm

New Moon 2020

  • Saturday 25 January 8:42am
  • Monday 24 February 2:32am
  • Tuesday 24 March 8:28pm
    Micro New Moon
  • Monday 23 April 12:25pm
  • Saturday 23 May 3:38am
  • Sunday 21 June 4:41pm
  • Tuesday 21 July 3:32am
  • Wednesday 19 August 12:41pm
    Black Moon
  • Thursday 17 September 9:00pm
  • Saturday 17 October 6:31am
    Super New Moon
  • Sunday 15 November 4:07pm
    Super New Moon
  • Tuesday 15 December 3:16am
Did you know? In most Aboriginal cultures, the Sun is regarded as a woman, and the Moon is a man.